About the Delta Conservancy

The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy was established in 2009 to pursue the co-equal goals of environmental and economic protection of the Delta Community.  Through both internal programs and grant-funded projects, our goal is to bring integrated environmental, economic and social benefits to the Delta.

The Delta Conservancy collaborates with local communities, interested groups, fellow science experts and state and federal agencies to seek creative opportunities to address challenges and progress these efforts within the Delta.  The Conservancy is a member of the Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee (DPIIC) (web link) intended to advance the Delta Plan through increased coordination.

The Conservancy strives to prioritize and fund projects in a balanced manner according to geography and our legislative responsibilities.  We understand the importance of completing each of the projects we manage, identifying restoration priorities, and achieving our goals in a way that brings the best possible results for all members of the Delta community.

Our Mission

Working collaboratively and in coordination with local communities, the Conservancy will lead efforts to protect, enhance, and restore the Delta’s economy, agriculture and working landscapes, and environment, for the benefit of the Delta region, its local communities, and the citizens of California.

Tribal Consultation Policy 

The purpose of this policy is to ensure effective government-to-government consultation between the Natural Resources Agency and its Departments, and Indian tribes and tribal communities, to provide meaningful input in the development of regulations, rules, policies, programs, projects and property decisions and activities that may affect tribal communities.  Click here to view the California Natural Resources Agency Tribal Consultation Policy (web link).

Legislative Responsibilities

The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy is a state agency within the Natural Resources Agency and was established on February 3, 2010, through the legislation in Public Resources Code Division 22.3 [32300-32381].   Click here to view the Delta Conservancy’s establishing legislation (web link).

The Delta Conservancy is governed by an 11-member Board, with assistance from 12 Liaison Advisors. Collectively, they represent the five Delta counties, local nonprofits, special districts, and state and federal agencies. The Conservancy’s service area is the statutory Delta and Suisun Marsh, approximately 1,300 square miles with more than 1,000 miles of levees and waterways.

The Delta Conservancy supports efforts that advance both environmental protection and the economic well-being of Delta residents in a complementary manner, including the following:

  1. Protect and enhance habitat and habitat restoration.
  2. Protect and preserve Delta agriculture and working landscapes.
  3. Provide increased opportunities for tourism and recreation.
  4. Promote Delta legacy communities and economic vitality in the Delta in coordination with the Delta Protection Commission.
  5. Increase the resilience of the Delta to the effects of natural disasters such as floods and earthquakes, in coordination with the Delta Protection Commission.
  6. Protect and improve water quality.
  7. Assist the Delta regional economy through the operation of the Conservancy’s program.
  8. Identify priority projects and initiatives for which funding is needed.
  9. Protect, conserve, and restore the region’s physical, agricultural, cultural, historical, and living resources.
  10. Assist local entities in the implementation of their habitat conservation plans (HCPs) and natural community conservation plans (NCCPs).
  11. Facilitate “take protection” and “safe harbor” agreements under the federal Endangered Species Act of 1973 (16 U.S.C. Sec. 1531 et seq.) and the California Endangered Species Act (Chapter 1.5 (commencing with Section 2050) of Division 3 of the Fish and Game Code) for adjacent landowners and local public agencies.
  12. Promote environmental education.
A map of the Delta Conservancy’s service area: the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and the Suisun Marsh, located in Northern California. The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and Suisun Marsh contain areas in Yolo County, Solano County, Sacramento County, San Joaquin County, Contra Costa County and Alameda County. The northern border extends to the city of West Sacramento and the Interstate 80 freeway in Yolo County. The western border extends past California State Route 113 in Solano County around the Suisun Marsh, and past the cities of Antioch and Brentwood in Contra Costa County. The southern border of the Delta and Suisun Marsh extends past the city of Tracy in southern San Joaquin County. The eastern border extends to the city of Stockton in San Joaquin County and to the Interstate 5 freeway in Sacramento County. Larger cities that are within the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and Suisun Marsh include (from north to south) West Sacramento, Freeport, Clarksburg, Hood, Courtland, Locke, Walnut Grove, Isleton, Rio Vista, Antioch, Oakley, Knightsen, Stockton, Brentwood, and Tracy. Highway roads that run through the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and Suisun Marsh include Interstate 80, U.S. Highway 50, California State Route 84, Interstate 5, California State Route 113, California State Route 12, California State Route 4, California State Route 220, Interstate 205, California State Route 160, and California State Route 120.
Map of Delta Conservancy Service Area